Tamp&Puff member-recommended eBay sellers →  bobus  •  great estate-pipes  •  Judd  •  irishlefty  •  knobby  •  pipestud  •  shiny pipes  •  secondhandsmoker

Another Epiphany

Because there's more to life than pipe smoking. If it will not fit another forum, bring it up here.

Another Epiphany

Postby RoyOdhner » Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:09 am

I'm sitting here in the wee hours, sipping on a large dram of Glenmorangie and a big ol' Pete full of Haunted Bookshop tobacco. Why? I've come to an epiphany - a legitimate, honest-to-goodness, shift (and a seismic one at that) in professional perspective. I'm still trying to wrap my mind around it, and the Glenmorangie and Haunted Bookshop makes this mind wrapping a far more enjoyable activity.

I'm a graduate student in the counseling program at Texas Wesleyan University in Fort Worth, Texas. My goal, upon graduation, is to work with sex offenders and their victims. An unusual endeavor, even among therapists, but I've come to understand that it is a calling as a much as it is a professional interest. This requires a certain understanding of offenders, those they have violated, and the dynamics of sexual trauma and sex offending. My professional orientation had been Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and Rational Emotive Behavioral Therapy, but that was greatly expanded when I discovered the works of Murray Bowen and his Systemic Theory. Salvador Minuchin and his Structural Theory then expanded on this.