Tamp&Puff member-recommended eBay sellers →  bobus  •  great estate-pipes  •  Judd  •  irishlefty  •  knobby  •  pipestud  •  shiny pipes  •  secondhandsmoker

Oral Cancer Statistics

If its about the fine hobby of pipe smoking but not specific to one of the other forums post about it here.

Oral Cancer Statistics

Postby KevLa » Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:58 am

Good day, my pipe-smoking friends!

Like me, you've probably read or heard that one of the chief health risks associated with pipe smoking is oral cancer. Now, I am not a wishful thinker, but neither do I accept information unquestioningly. Since taking up pipe smoking after becoming concerned about my future health, six years ago, and eventually making the full switch from cigarette smoking to pipe smoking about four-and-a-half years ago, I have continued to attempt to research the health ramifications. The following exercise might be of interest to you, but please bear in mind that I am no expert on health, and am not very good at maths or statistical analysis.

Unlike brain cancer, oral cancer is within the class of cancers known as 'head and neck cancers'.

According to Action on Smoking and Health (A.S.H.), a pipe smoker is nearly 4 times more likely to develop oral cancer than a non-smoker.

According to Google, the population in the U.K. in 2013 was approximately 64,100,000 people.

According to the Office of National Statistics, the median age of U.K. residents in 2014 was 40 years old. This means that approximately half of the population were over 40 years old.

According to Cancer Research UK, there were 11,449 new cases of head or neck cancer in the U.K. in 2014.

Also according to Cancer Research UK, there is a much higher incidence of head or neck cancer among those above the age of 40 than among those below.