Tamp&Puff member-recommended eBay sellers →  bobus  •  great estate-pipes  •  Judd  •  irishlefty  •  knobby  •  pipestud  •  shiny pipes  •  secondhandsmoker

Raw wood in the bowl.

For discussion about creating, restoring, modifying, or maintaining tobacco pipes

Raw wood in the bowl.

Postby ColoradoHusker » Tue Aug 12, 2014 4:47 am

I just received my first briar pipe from a small company and the inside of the bowl is raw wood. Is that normal? I expected there to be some sort of coating or treatment on the wood but I am new to the hobby and this is my first non-cob. Are my concerns unfounded? The pipe is beautiful so I hope all is well, I'd hate to have to send it back.
ColoradoHusker

Re: Raw wood in the bowl.

Postby William » Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:18 am

Many pipe makers leave bowls untreated, so enjoy your new pipe.
The meaning of life becomes irrelevant once I'm smoking my pipe.
William
Supporting Member
Supporting Member

Postby ratatosk » Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:04 pm

Like William said.

There is a recent thread that concerns this whole coating thing that you might find useful, http://tampandpuff.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=9094

Some prefer it, some don't, but the main thing is to smoke several bowls to the bottom to lay in some cake. Many people begin with half bowls, but I don't think it matters as long as you get to the bottom each time. At any rate, coating becomes irrelevant after a few smokes.
Richard
-----------
If even I don't know how many pipes I own, how the hell would you know if I have too many?
ratatosk
Supporting Member
Supporting Member

Postby 4nogginsmike » Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:50 pm