Tamp&Puff member-recommended eBay sellers →  bobus  •  great estate-pipes  •  Judd  •  irishlefty  •  knobby  •  pipestud  •  shiny pipes  •  secondhandsmoker

Stem Maintenance

For discussion about creating, restoring, modifying, or maintaining tobacco pipes

Stem Maintenance

Postby dogfaceboy » Sun Mar 29, 2015 12:42 am

Bought a used pipe, the tenon is nice and black, but the stem is a grayish green color. I'm new to pipe smoking, hence new to anatomy and maintenance. Is this "discoloring" common? Is there a way to bring the stem back to life, rich and black? Or is this just the way this one will have to stay?
dogfaceboy

Re: Stem Maintenance

Postby ratatosk » Sun Mar 29, 2015 1:12 am

Your pipe has a vulcanite stem which is a type of rubber. It's made by mixing sulfur compounds with latex to harden it, the problem is that when exposed to light and air for sustained periods the sulfur will outgas and the discoloration that you see is the result of that. The tenon is nice and black because it has not been exposed.

You can clean it up and different people have different preferences. Many suggest a trip to the grocery store to buy either Barkeepers Friend or Magic Eraser, then applying elbow grease and patience. There are also lots of stem cleaning creams, etc., available and I use one sold by Walker Pipe Repair in Michigan, but that would be kind of pricey to deal with a single pipe.

Once you get it cleaned up, a simple way to retard the process is to just put a light coat of Chapstick on the stem after smoking. There is also a product called Obsidian Oil that does a great job of sealing the surface when used regularly. But the best suggestion is to just keep the pipe in a dark place when not in use. I quit using racks for my vulcanite pipes and keep them in desk drawers lined with cloths.