Tamp&Puff member-recommended eBay sellers →  bobus  •  great estate-pipes  •  Judd  •  irishlefty  •  knobby  •  pipestud  •  shiny pipes  •  secondhandsmoker

Have I poisoned my pipe with Christmas cheer?

Have I poisoned my pipe with Christmas cheer?

Postby Splodger » Mon Nov 09, 2015 4:57 am

This is another post that I have to preface with the fact that I am a novice.

In my recent rush to try out new tobaccos, and in an effort to prepare for Christmas, I purchased a tin of Dan Tobacco's Devil's Holiday. Now I'm sure that this blend would suit some people, but on opening the tin I was assaulted by the smell of my long dead grandma's awful Christmas cake. In the spirit of being a cheep bugger I decided to fill my pipe and give it a go. Initially I found it revolting, but decided to persevere in the hope that the overpowering Christmassyness might mellow out. It did not.

Now, if all I wanted to do was vent I would have bored my wife with it, but on picking up that pipe two days later it was still there, like the ghost of Christmas past. The Devil's Holiday is happening in my Brigham! Lucifer and his dark angels are partying down in my briar. I've tried to exorcise it with several bowls of Dunhill London Mixture, bit they are still in residence although not as active as they were.

All silliness aside, I don't think I have irreversibly poisoned my pipe with just one bowl of eggnog, but is it possible to permanently taint/flavor a pipe with a particular style of tobacco?

One more thing, I'm sure Dan Tobacco make very good tobacco blends, and this may well be one of them, but Devil's Holiday is not to my taste.
Splodger

Re: Have I poisoned my pipe with Christmas cheer?

Postby ratatosk » Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:20 am

I haven't found anything that 3 bowls of Prince Albert will not clean up. I have no idea of why it works, but it does in my experience.

Good luck.
Richard
-----------